Arrival Honors to the FIRST NLPSC PRESIDENT



The Third Quarter Regular Board Meeting of the honorable members of the NLPSC Board of Trustees on September 18, 2015 at the CHED Central Office, Manila, was a historic event as it entailed the election of the first NLPSC President through the splendid 8 votes against one vote in favor for Dr. Elizabeth M. Gacusana; thus, taking her Oath of Office right away and the signing of her appointed dated September 19, 2015 to September 18, 2019 with all the powers, rights, responsibilities and privileges in accordance with the provisions of Section 6 of Republic Act No. 8292, otherwise known as the “Higher Education Modernization Act of 1997”, including Sections 21, 25 and 27 of its Revised Implementing Rules and Regulations and by virtue of Resolution No. 420, series of 2015 passed on 18 September 2015 by the NLPSC Board of Trustees.  



A fitting arrival honors to Dr. Elizabeth M. Gacusana, the First President of NLPSC, was organized on September 21, 2015, Monday. After the flag raising ceremony, Dr. Gacusana took her solidarity walk around the campus to symbolize her first gaze of the communal entirety of the college which she would manage during her first-term full-fledged leadership. She was assisted by the college officials, the Student Government officers and the ROTC command.


A solemn mass to honor the SUC President I-appointee was held inside the gymnasium with Rev. Fr. LeobardoInofinada of San Juan de Sahagun Church in Candon City, Ilocos Sur as the officiating priest.


During the program, NLPSC Board Secretary Luz C. Inigo read the Resolution of the Board of Trustees which confirmed the result of the election of SUC President I for NLPSC and named Dr. Elizabeth M. Gacusana victorious in the esteemed position. She also read the appointment of Dr. Gacusana for the term inclusive from September 19, 2015 to September 18, 2019.


The Officer-in-Charge of the college, Dr. Severino G. Alviento, gave his farewell speech. He thanked the members of the academic community for their support to his administration that lasted for five months and two days. He also expressed his unwavering support to the administration of Dr. Gacusana and prognosticated future harmonious working relationship in the college. As a protocol, he turned over the NLPSC banner to Dr. Gacusana to symbolize the acceptance of the latter of the responsibilities that await her.


Mr. Vladimir M. Maala, president of the Alumni Association; Mr. June A. Gaygayed, president of the Student Government; Mrs. Marissa Ll. Mones, president of the Non-Teaching Personnel Association; and Mr. Alex Q. Mendoza, president of the Faculty Association, all gave their sincere testimonies and reassuring support to Dr. Gacusana and her administration. In behalf of the City Mayor of Candon, City Councilor RhodanaAbrero extended her words of congratulations to Dr. Gacusana.


In the privilege speech of the First NLPSC President, she highlighted the glorious beginnings of the college, down-tracking from the establishment of the Candon Community College, to its integration to the University of Northern Philippines, till the birth of North Luzon Philippines State College. Reminiscing the past, according to her, could help her harness the present and make better plans for the future. Her SIRIG BETH that spells out her visions, mission, goals and objectives was made a significant part of her speech.



A hearty luncheon honoring Dr. Elizabeth M. Gacusana was served for all the guests, visitors, college officials, teaching and non-teaching personnel. The event was hosted by Mrs. Maribel C. Iba?ez, GAD coordinator of the college.

Back to Top